Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: StarCraft 2: Playing as Zerg

Default StarCraft 2: Playing as Zerg

Recently started playing SC2 again - giving Zerg a try. Bearing in mind I am a total RTS newb, can anyone give me some tips?

Bind the backspace function (cycles your screen through hatcheries) to space. Inject. Spread overlords over the map. Inject. Get a macro hatch if you're floating loads of minerals, you'll need the larva. And for god's sake, don't forget to inject.

10 overlord
    14 pool
    15 gas
    16 roach house + queen
    17 worker + 2x overlords
    then mass roach.
    when you feel comfortable you can upgrade your hatch and build some more workers.

when your first 3 roaches pop start attacking (~5 min).
    you will be in front of his base well before he has any siegetanks or aircrafts.
    your mission is to kill his fancy tech building firstand then kill his army.

i got all the way from bronce to nr1 diamond with this build.
    i only have 30-60 apm.

6 pool
    -win

what else do you need

Quote Originally Posted by void View Post
    6 pool
    -win

what else do you need
    that's not true 6 pool is very easy to defend against just with workers.
    and especially on maps with multiple spawning positions you are fucked.

Yeah tried it vs medium Terran AI and the SCVs easily took out my Zerglings.

The roach rush is fine if all you want to do is win.
    Even with good control its a bit rock paper scissors.

Krez gave some decent advice, and it will hold up fine til plat, in all likelyhood.
    Making a spine at your natural @5 minutes so that it covers your ramp and some of your mineral line is a good idea if you don't know how to scout/what to scout for. It will build in time for many early game pushes.
    Also learn to block ramps with queens (narrows ramps only need 1 dead centre) until you have enough units out to defend.